Sam Loco-Efe, ‘Giringory’ others honoured with Rock of Fame Awards

Image result for Sam Loco-Efe, ‘Ginrigory’,

Late Nigerian movie veterans  Sam Loco-Efe, James Iroha, popularly known as ‘Giringori Akabogu’ and other practicing professionals  have been honoured as first recipients of the Rock of Fame Award.’ They were recognized  on Sunday night at the Zuma Films Awards and closing ceremony of  the 2017 edition of the ZUMA Film Festival (ZUFF)in Abuja.

Image result for Sam Loco-Efe, ‘Ginrigory’,
Sam Loco-Efe, ‘Ginrigory’, Kashim Yero and other late thespians were given posthumous honour of the Rock of Fame Award. Late Oba Funsho Adeolu,Hajiya Amina, and the  late actor and producer Adeyemi Afolayan, a.k.a Ade Love, father of veteran movie director Kunle Afolayan, also got the posthumous awards. Also, other living and practicing professionals were honoured with the Life-Time Achievement Awards category. The recipients include  Ola Balogun,Sadiq Daba, Edward  and Abdulkaraem Muhammed. Others are Brenda Shehu and  Femi Shaka, Professor of Film Studies, University of Port Harcourt. Dr Chidia Maduekwe, Managing Director of the Nigerian Film Corporation (NFC) and Chairman of the festival organising committee,described the honour for the  thespians and stakeholders as “well deserved.” According to him, the recipients, living and the dead have contributed to the exponential growth of the Nigeria movie industry, popularly known as Nollywood, as it evolves over the years.

Image result for Sam Loco-Efe,

This is our modest attempt in appreciating the enormous contributions of these film practitioners in the Nigeria film industry and their achievements thereof. “They are today recognised as the first recipients of the Nigerian Film Society Rock of Fame Award, the highest professional recognition within the Nigeria Film industry based solely on merit. “The labour of love and commitment to Nigeria’s development of our industry geniuses shall continually be recognised and rewarded. “We have institutionalised the recognition and award as part of ZUMA Film Festival, and therefore shall recognise several veterans during each and subsequent edition of the festival,” he said. Maduekwe added that the awardees will be formally inducted  into the ‘Rock of Fame’ at the Rock of Fame Arena of the Nigerian Film Parliament in Jos, the Plateau State Capital, in 2018. He explained that in order to effectively showcase Nollywood as a viable investment opportunity and alternative means of employment and wealth creation, the once biennial ZUFF, is to henceforth be held annually. The closing ceremony and awards night was held in a buffet -dinner setting,featuring live music performances,comedies and live stage drama presentations. Filmmakers from within and outside Nigeria,captains of industries, the academia, relevant government functionaries and diplomats attended the event. The ZUMA Film Festival, now in its 8th edition, is platform for Nigerian film practitioners to network with their counterparts from other parts of the world and thus stimulates co-production and financing opportunities. It presents the Nigerian film industry as a vibrant and viable investment option to Nigeria and international business communities

Related image


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: